Thinking about Process and Reason

I’ve always done well in school projects, responding to set criteria: go to the Museum, think about the politics of display, you have a week, this is the hand in time. – that sort of thing.
It’s taken me a while to figure out how to apply that to myself outside of undergraduate study, how to set myself those projects and even more difficultly, how to make those projects lead on from each other.

I’m not sure if I have figured that out, it’s raised a bigger question for me – how to make those projects relate to the outside world in some meaningful way.

My processes are quite often shoddily scientific parameters, or poetic actions, ways of trying to comprehend something in relation to my own life.
The vastness of the sky and what falls out of it, the information about it sent from a layer above where it falls from.
The distance between myself and someone who has passed out of time and communication.
My failures to adequately understand duration and distance, how things slip by unnoticed and are gone, or the unnoticed connections between things.

Ingrid Calame thinks of her practice in terms of trying to find out what like looks like (or what death looks like). I’m not sure if that is what I’m trying to achieve – I think I might be trying to figure out what time looks like, or what the experience of time looks like.

Leave a Reply

