Thoughts on Things (Part two)

CLOUD INCREASING/MOSTLY CLOUDY/SOME HIGH CLOUD/RAIN (video) [no preview as yet sorry guys just a screenshot]

Screen Shot 2013-09-12 at 9.59.04 AM

 

I’m attempting to make these videos into a split screen video for seminar. Ideally I would reshoot these with a good quality video camera (instead of a SLR with a dirty sensor!) and project these wall sized one one whole wall each so that where the projections meet you would get a lovely mismatch of movement. I think it would be quite disconcerting, the sky would be large and immersive and the lack of perspective may even make the viewer off balance. I was wondering about sound for this work but I haven’t yet been able to come up with anything right yet. I had considered layering up their original soundtracks but Dave suggested (and I agree) that something more deliberate might work better. That way the sound becomes as considered as the images and as important.

HAIKU

IMG_20130822_101851

I nearly wrote this accidentally, I was drawing something and and just wrote it down as something to think about a bit later then when I did I noticed that if I just changed one word it became a haiku. It was a question that had been bugging me for a while and one I still don’t know the answer to, but that’s what I like about it. There is a certain amount of logic to it that I enjoy, a ‘not knowing’ a bit like the sound of one hand clapping, its a wondering, a question not an answer.

LORE (video)

I had been reading a book about predicting the weather and came across some interesting bits of folk lore about the weather, what I found interesting about these bits of lore is that there is an amount of believability or logic to them (like the Haiku) I don’t know which is true and which are false but each gives me an image in my mind or makes me ask a question. I was going to draw them all but have left them as text as I think it is more fun imagining them. My original video had many pieces of lore, some simple, some poetic and some absurd and I had it with Vivaldi’s 3 movements of summer, even synched in certain places which I found challenging, however, the feedback I received said that it needed to be shorter and that the music wasn’t right so I have revised a video for seminar. I have whittled it down to just over 3 minutes and have made a soundtrack from the sound of a slide projector. I like the idea of possibly turning the animation stills into actual slides and playing them on a carousel, like old photographs. Perhaps the vehicle change, away from a moving image and into a series of stills may be better, however in time for seminar, I have faked it as an animation with a soundtrack which I am enjoying also. There is something to be said for faking it.

lore 14

DATA (mp3)

[Machine read weather data collected over three months]

I’m not sure where I am going with this, I wanted to step away from the sound a bit and not push the human element of having a script read by a person so I recorded a text speak program reading through the data for me. I find that I trust this voice less than when a ‘real’ person reads it. When it’s a machine I find I’m more likely to question the validity of the data.

 

Leave a Reply

