Bits of Susan Hiller

Just a couple of quotes from Susan Hiller from the book I am currently reading.

“I explain the guiding principle of my work to myself as ‘truth to material’.  This seems to mean somewhat different things to me at different times, just as it did to Moore [Henry Moore].  But I need to be careful here because I don’t want to give the impression that I know everything about my work.  It’s necessary to figure out ways to talk about it that don’t make it seem as though it’s already completed and understood”.

 

“My work is very personal, and I would rather think of it as poetic rather than scientific.  Even when adopting classificatory modes, I know I am not providing knowledge any more than I am providing entertainment.   Art is something else-perhaps an area where the possibility of meaning is framed and collaboratively, collectively, determined”.

Leave a Reply

